Football clubs have different structures of organisation and ownership. Some are privately owned, are owned by corporate firms and also community ownerships. Despite the difference in ownerships and organisation, they serve the same purpose. In Sydney, there are several football clubs. This piece has a detailed discussion of different ownership structures of the Sydney-based clubs.

Privately Owned Clubs

These are clubs owned by individuals or private organisations. They can own 100% of the club or a certain percentage. Examples of clubs owned privately include Sydney FC. The club is owned by David Traktovenko who is a Russian businessman. The team plays its home football at the Netstrata Jubilee Stadium Leichhardt Oval.

Western Sydney Wanderers FC is a football club participating in the A-League from Sydney. The club is privately co-owned by four people namely Paul Lederer, Glenn Duncan, Jefferson Cheng and David Slade. They play their home matches at either the Bankwest Stadium, the ANZ Stadium, or the Parramatta Stadium.

Community Owned Clubs

Community-owned clubs are those whose existence is as a result of a group that shares the same ideals starting team. These communities could be religious groups, social groups, ethnic groups or even people coming from a common area. Such organisations include Hakoah Sydney City East FC. They are nicknamed the Slickers. The community-owned club was formed in 1939 by a Jewish community in Sydney. The club currently participates in the National Premier Leagues NSW.

APIA Leichhardt FC is an Australian team in Sydney that was formed by an ethnic group called the Italian Australians. It was established in 1954, and it currently competes in the NPL NSW league.

Dural Warriors Futsal Club is a church-owned football team that is based in Sydney. The group was founded in 1994 by the Dural Baptist Church. The team takes part in the F-League, which is a semi-professional league.