Australia is a great footballing nation. The sport was first played in 1875 at Queensland and has developed over the years. Currently, there are about 14,021 clubs in the state. The outdoor team sport is governed by the Football Federation Australia. There are several club competitions that the teams participate in. Australian club football is organised in the following manner.


Australian club football is controlled by the Football Federation Australia. The governing body organises how leagues are undertaken. It is in charge of both the men’s and women’s leagues. Some of the club competitions under its jurisdiction include the A-League, FFA Cup and the W-League. The Football Federation Australia is a member of the ASEAN Football Confederation and also the Asian Football Federation.

FFA was established in 1963 and is chaired by Chris Nikou. The board is in charge of nine territories within Australia. They include Capital Football, Northern NSW Football, Football NSW, Football Queensland, Football Victoria, Football Federation Northern Territory, Football West among others.


Since the start of club competitions in Australia, there has been one a top divisional league and many other leagues which are run by the nine-member states of the FFA. From 1977 to 2004, the National Soccer League was the top tier in Australia. In 2005, it rebranded to the A-League. Currently, there are no promotions or relegation taking place in the A-League. The A-League has 11 clubs participating with one from New Zealand. In the upcoming 2021/22 season there is a proposed second-tier club competition.

Clubs within the country are either owned by individuals, corporations or communities. In Sydney, the football structure and organisation is similar to that in all other parts of Australia.


A regular football season in Australia runs from October and ends in April. Each season comprises of 27 matches. Each team plays against the others in three meetings a season. The period of the season is usually during the summer months.